picchiani barlacchi medagliaINFN founded the “Galileo Galilei Medal” award in honour of the father of the scientific method and of modern physics. The award was created in 2018 when the GGI was established as an INFN National Centre for Advanced Studies, in partnership with the University of Florence. Starting from 2019, the Galileo Galilei Medal is assigned every two years by an international committee appointed by INFN.

The medal is awarded to one or more scientists (three at the most) who, in the 25 years before the date of the award, have achieved outstanding results on the areas of theoretical physics of interest to INFN, such as fundamental interactions between elementary particles, including gravity and nuclear phenomena.

The Galileo Galilei Medal 2019 was awarded to Juan Martin Maldacena with the following motivation: “For his ground-breaking ideas in theoretical physics, and especially for the discovery of duality between gravity and ordinary quantum field theory, with far-reaching implications.” Born in Buenos Aires in 1968, Juan Martin Maldacena is one of the most influential theoretical physicists in the last decades. His ideas have opened new scenarios in string theory, field theory and quantum gravity. He is currently a member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (USA).

The Medal

The Galileo Galilei Medal was crafted by a famous Florentine workshop, Picchiani&Barlacchi, with over a century of tradition of artistic and commemorative medals, plaques and trophies.

>> Video

>> Photo gallery

>> Depliant





INFN promotes Open Access as defined by the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities

Open Access consists in the free and immediate public access to results and data of publicly funded research.


Open Access matches the constitutional values of promotion of culture and research, both scientific and technological. In particular, it aims to: disseminate science research on an international scale; to make research products accessible to subjects unable to access pay resources, to favor a reduction in the duplication of scientific studies; to support interdisciplinary research, knowledge transfer to industry and transparency to citizenship; to improve efficiency of science in education, to guarantee conservation of results over time.

INFN opposes plagiarism and verifies the originality of contents deposited in its repositories.

Open Access publishing operates on two levels: 

•            The “green road”, i.e., self-archiving of both metadata and content, including the grant of perpetual, universal and free of charge grant of access;

•            The “gold road”, i.e., publication of scientific papers on open access, refereed journals.

INFN supports the green road in order to disseminate the research products, making them accessible beyond the publishers' commercial network, in respect of the copyright laws, and supporting the interoperability among academic institutional repositories. Along with self-archiving, INFN will promote a policy of development of Open Access publishing (the gold road).

The INFN policy implements the UE Commission Recommendation (July 17th, 2012) on access to scientific information and preservation (2012/417/UE) also in GUCE L 194/39 July 24th, 2012; and the sec. 4, comma 2 and 4, DL n.91/2013, law L. n. 112/2013.

INFN has signed the Berlin Declaration (2009) and the Messina Declaration 2.0 (2014).

INFN is both a partner and Italy's coordinator of the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3, scoap3.org), in collaboration with CRUI, and participating research institutes and universities.

INFN has signed with CNR, INGV and INAF the memorandum of understanding "For the collaboration on Open Access and interoperability  among R&D information systems".

 The INFN Working Group is formed by:

Roberto Barbera (Open Access Repository)

Stefano Bianco (OA contact point and SCOAP3 National  Representative)

Marcello Maggi (Open Access and Data Preservation)

Dario Menasce (Open Access Data)

Laura Patrizii (Open Access in Science Europe)

info: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


pulsante plans

Ethics Committee

The Members of Ethics Committee are:
- Chiara Federici - Chairperson, confidential counsellor
- Antonio Passeri,  Researchers' Representative on the Governing Council
- Roberto Gomezel, the Technologists' and Technical and Administrative Personnel Representative on the Governing Council
- Maria Rosaria Masullo, a Representative of the Single Guarantee Committee (CUG)
- Luca Gennaro Foggetta, a Representative of research personnel (other than employee researchers and technologists), with research fix-term contract