The governing council is the institute’s decision-making body. It consists of the chairman and the executive board, the four national laboratory directors and 20 division directors, representatives from the Ministry of Education, Universities and Research (MUR), the Ministry for Economic Development, and representatives from the staff of INFN.
Council decisions are implemented, as appropriate, by the chairman, executive board or laboratory directors, by division directors for those regarding local activities and by by the General Director for the organisation of the administrative activities. In addition to the four National Laboratories, three National Centre are also part of the overall structure: CNAF, GGI e TIFPA.
Scientific activities are managed by five National Scientific Committees (CSN) that act as advisory bodies to the governing council. Each CSN is concerned with a specific line of research: subnuclear physics (CSN1), astroparticle physics (CSN2), nuclear physics (CSN3), theoretical physics (CSN4), technological and inter-disciplinary research (CSN5). Building on decades of experience, the INFN has developed an organisational structure that achieves a good balance between centralised and decentralised management.

organigramma inglese 2020 novembre CRC direAC ccr CNTT CC3M CTS csn1 csn2 cns3 cns4 csn5 cug oiv cvi cnaf tifpa GGI pres cd

The organogram contains hyperlinks

members of the Executive Board